2015 Awards

The Corporation presented awards at the Annual Awards Reception, on December 7, 2015 at the Lord Baltimore Hotel.


Larry Coppel The Arthur W. Machen, Jr. Award was presented to Lawrence D. Coppel, a member of Gordon Feinblatt LLC, who has demonstrated a deep commitment to pro bono legal services and to opening the courts to Maryland’s indigent litigants through self-help bankruptcy and debtor assistance clinics for clients and professional development for volunteer lawyers. Left Photo (L-R): Board Chair Glenn F. Ivey, Lawrence D. Coppel, Chief Judge Mary Ellen Barbera.
Pam OrtizMaureen Sweeney The Benjamin L. Cardin Distinguished Service Award was presented to Pamela Cardullo Ortiz, of the Administrative Office of the Courts, and to Maureen A. Sweeney, of the University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law. Ms. Ortiz (top left) has spent her 22-year legal career in public interest law, working tirelessly and creatively to move Maryland toward providing more complete access to civil legal services to low-income people. Ms. Sweeney (bottom left) started her 26-year legal career serving farmworkers and immigrants in nonprofit organizations and has focused her law school research and clinic work on deportation defense for asylum seekers, individuals with convictions, and victims of crime and on increasing access to legal representation for noncitizens.
The William L. Marbury Outstanding Advocate Award was presented to D. Crystal Mack (right), of the Women’s Law Center, who has provided zealous advocacy for victims of domestic violence in Carroll County and serves as a point person for anyone coming to the Courts seeking protection from abuse. Crystal Mack
Joe Grabowski The Herbert S. Garten Public Citizen Award was given to Gore Brothers, for its commitment to providing access to justice by providing discounted deposition and videotaping services and other support to many legal services providers.  Left Photo (L-R): Board Chair Glenn F. Ivey, Joe Grabowski for Gore Brothers, Chief Judge Mary Ellen Barbera, Herbert S. Garten.
MLSC honored Franklin D. Chambers, Jr., Ph.D. for his service as a member of the Board of Directors from 2011 to 2015. Kathy Chambers (right ) accepted the award for her husband. Kathy Chambers


The Corporation is pleased to acknowledge the generous contributions of the individuals and organizations that support the work of the Maryland Legal Services Corporation.

PARTNER: Law Offices of Peter G. Angelos, P.C. • DLA Piper LLP (US) • Gordon Feinblatt LLC • Kramon & Graham, P.A.
PATRON: Lerch, Early & Brewer, Chtd. • Linowes & Blocher LLP • Ober Kaler • Venable Foundation
DONOR: Baldwin Law LLC • Fedder and Garten, P.A. • Gallagher, Evelius & Jones LLP • Gross, Mendelsohn & Associates, P.A. •  Niles, Barton & Wilmer, LLP • Joshua and Christina Park • Hon. Mark F. Scurti • Hon. Pamela J. White • Michael and Lorraine Zupton
SPONSOR: Joseph J Dyer • Maryland State Bar Association  • Rosenberg Martin Greenberg, LLP • Southern Management Corporation • Summit Business Technologies • University of Baltimore School of Law • University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law
MEDIA SPONSOR: The Daily Record

More Photos

2015awards 2015awards
2015awards 2015awards
R2015awards 2015awards
R2015awards 2015awards